Seminars and Workshops

Click here for an interactive campus map. 

The Economics Department is pleased to announce our upcoming seminars. There are three distinct tracks: Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, and Econometrics. We also occasionally hold department-wide seminars.

To view past seminars, click here.

The Economics Department is pleased to announce our upcoming econometrics seminars. Unless specifically stated otherwise, all econometrics seminars are held on Tuesdays from 4:00 pm-5:30 pm in Rich 211. 

Fall 2017

Tuesday, September 26, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Aman Ullah
University of California, Riverside
Topic: TBA

Host: Essie Maasoumi

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, October 3, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Jiening Pan
Nankai University
Topic: "Cash Holding, Agency Costs, and Cross-section of Stock Returns"

Host: Essie Maasoumi

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, October 17, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Nikolay Gospodinov
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Topic: "General Aggregation of Misspecified Asset Pricing Models"

Host: Essie Maasoumi

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, October 31, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Yuya Sasaki
Vanderbilt University
Topic: "Inference for Moments of Ratios with Robustness Against Large Trimming Bias and Unknown Converegence Rate"

Host: Zhongjian Lin

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, November 14, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Mehmet Caner
Ohio State University
Topic: "Asymptotically Honest Confidence Regions for High Dimensional Parameters by the Desparsified Conservative Lasso"

Host: Elena Pesavento

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, November 28, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Simon Lee
Colombia University
Topic: TBA

Host: Ruixuan Liu

Location: Rich 211

Spring 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Ignacio N. Lobato
Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México
Topic: TBA

Host: David Jacho-Chavez

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, April 3, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Ba Chu
Carleton University
Topic: TBA

Host: David Jacho-Chavez

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, April 10, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Tong Li
Vanderbilt University
Topic: TBA

Host: Zhongjian Lin

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, April 24, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Xiaoxia Shi
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Topic: TBA

Host: Ruixuan Liu

Location: Rich 211

The Economics Department is pleased to announce our upcoming macroeconomics seminars. Please note that times and locations vary.

For a listing of the Atlanta Federal Reserve Seminars, please visit this page. For driving directions to the Atlanta Federal Reserve Bank, click here.

Fall 2017

Tuesday, September 5, 2017, 11:30 am-1:00 pm

Pablo Guerron-Quintana
Boston College
Topic: TBA

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Thursday, September 14, 2017, 11:30 am-1:00 pm

Gustavo Ventura
Arizona State University
Topic: "Child-related Transfers, Household Labor Supply, and Welfare"

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Thursday, November 2, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

David Berger
Northwestern University
Topic: "Uncertainty Shocks as Second-moment News Shocks"

Host: Nelson Lind

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, November 9, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Mark Bognanni
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Topic: "A Class of Time-varying Parameter Structural VARs for Inference under Exact or Partial Identification"

Host: Juan Rubio-Ramirez

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, November 16, 2017, 11:30 am-1:00 pm

Simon Gervais
Duke University
Topic: "The Equilibrium Value of Employee Ethics"

Host: John Kim

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Friday, December 1, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Arlene Wong
Princeton University
Topic: TBA

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Friday, December 8, 2017 - Saturday, December 9, 2017

6th Atlanta Workshop on International Economics
Location: Emory Conference Center and Hotel

Spring 2018

Thursday, March 1, 2018, 11:30 am-1:00 pm

Sevin Yeltekin
Carnegie Mellon University
Topic: TBA

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Thursday, March 8, 2018, 11:30 am-1:00 pm

Bariş Kaymak
University of Montreal
Topic: TBA

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Thursday, March 22, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Guillermo Ordonez
University of Pennsylvania
Topic: TBA

Host: Nels Lind

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, March 29, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Jules van Binsbergen
University of Pennsylvania
Topic: TBA

Host: John Kim

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, April 5, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Youchang Wu
University of Oregon
Topic: TBA

Host: John Kim

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, April 12, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Martin Schneider
Stanford University
Topic: TBA

Host: Nels Lind

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, April 26, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Alejandro Justiniano
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Topic: TBA

Host: Nelson Lind

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, May 10, 2018, 11:30 am-1:00 pm

Dirk Krueger
University of Pennsylvania
Topic: TBA

Location: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

The Economics Department is pleased to announce our upcoming microeconomics seminars. Unless specifically stated otherwise, all microeconomics seminars are held on Tuesdays from 1:00 pm-2:30 pm in Rich 211.

Fall 2017

Tuesday, September 5, 2017, 1:00 pm-2:30 pm

Michael Morrisey
Texas A&M University
Topic: "Five-State Study of ACA Marketplace Competition"

Host: Ian McCarthy

Location: Rich 211

Tuesday, September 26, 2017, 1:00 pm-2:30 pm

Leila Agha
Dartmouth College
Topic: TBA

Host: Ian McCarthy

Location: Rich 211

Thursday, October 12, 2017, 1:00 pm-2:30 pm

Bertan Turhan
Instituto Technologico Autonomo de Mexico (ITAM)
Topic: "Dynamic Reserves in Matching Markets"

Host: Maria Arbatskaya

Location: Rich 211

Friday, October 20, 2017, 8:00 am-4:15 pm

Georgia Health Economics Research Day

Tuesday, November 7, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Fei Li
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Topic: "Revenue Management without Commitment: Dynamic Pricing and Periodic Fire Sales"

Host: Mi Luo

Location: Rich 211

The Economics Department is pleased to announce our upcoming department-wide seminars for all faculty and graduate students. Department-wide seminars are offered at various times throughout the academic year and are typically of interest to a wide range of Economic specializations.

Fall 2017

Thursday, October 19, 2017, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Le Wang
University of Oklahoma
Topic: "The Gender Gap between Earnings Distributions"

Host: Essie Maasoumi

Location: Rich 211

Spring 2018

Tuesday, April 17, 2018, 4:00 pm-5:30 pm

Craig Garthwaite
Northwestern University
Topic: TBA

Host: Ian McCarthy

Location: Rich 211

The Economics Department is pleased to announce our upcoming department Lunch and Learns. These seminars give Economics faculty and graduate students the opportunity to learn more about their colleagues' latest research.

All Lunch and Learn seminars are from 12:30 pm-1:30 pm in Rich 211 unless otherwise indicated. If you are interested in attending a session, you must RSVP to mpbrown@emory.edu by the Tuesday of the week of the seminar.

Fall 2017

Friday, October 6, 2017

Aliaksandr Zaretski
Macro/Banking

Friday, October 27, 2017

Anne Hannusch
Macroeconomics

Friday, November 3, 2017

Zhongjian Lin
Econometrics

Friday, November 10, 2017

Nels Lind
Trade

Friday, November 17, 2017*

Mi Luo
Macroeconomics

Note Special Time: 1:00 pm-2:00 pm

Thursday, December 7, 2017

John Kim
Finance